inpout32 (Language Help)

by skidrow77, Friday, October 17, 2014, 05:31 (1096 days ago)

I am trying to use the PORTOUT command to send data to a serial port. The code is activated in the preferences and the inpout32.dll is there both in the BASI256 folder and WINDOWS folder. I can run a program that outputs characters to 0x3F8, 0x2F8, 0x3E8, and 0x2E8 (COM1 thru 4) and there are no program errors. However there is no COM output either.
What am I doing wrong??

inpout32

by m.alessandrini, Monday, October 20, 2014, 09:18 (1093 days ago) @ skidrow77

Hi, I just started studying basic-256 sources and giving some contributions back.
From what I understand, inpout32.dll, and the related basic instructions, are for parallel port, not for serial. I don't know what their original use was intended for.
It would be nice in the future to have support for serial ports, cause they allow you to interface to a whole world of electronic gadgets, like robots, dev boards, etc...
Many USB devices are seen as a serial port anyway on the PC.
Bye
Michele

inpout32

by skidrow77, Monday, October 20, 2014, 16:45 (1093 days ago) @ m.alessandrini

Well, that's very disappointing. Nice new programming language - stuck in the DOS days. We can only hope the developers will add some code to allow BASIC to reach outside the box for robotic or automation applications.
Thanks for the heads up.

inpout32

by m.alessandrini, Monday, October 20, 2014, 17:16 (1093 days ago) @ skidrow77

This is my understanding of the serial/parallel status, the authors should confirm.
Anyway you're not fair, the program has many good features. I'm planning to contribute to it in the next future, and this could be a valid feature. I use serial port in windows and linux daily to interact with such devices, I'd like to bring my experience here. Of course using memory addresses for ports is not viable, should be like "COM1" on windows or "/dev/ttyUSB0" on linux, for example.

inpout32